Skip to main content

What are the different types of MOT ?

You are here:
  • KB Home
  • What are the different types of MOT ?
Estimated reading time: 1 min

In the UK, there are several different types of MOT tests, each serving a specific purpose. The main types of MOT tests are:

Standard MOT Test: This is the most common type of MOT test and is required for most cars. It is conducted annually for cars that are over three years old. The standard MOT test covers a wide range of checks, including car safety, roadworthiness, emissions, and general functionality. It ensures that the car meets the minimum legal standards to be driven on public roads.

Extended MOT Test: The extended MOT test is applicable to certain types of cars, such as taxis or private hire cars. It is required annually for these specific car categories and includes additional checks to ensure the car’s suitability for commercial passenger transportation.

HGV and PSV MOT Test: HGV (Heavy Goods Vehicle) and PSV (Public Service Vehicle) MOT tests are specific to commercial cars used for transporting goods or passengers. These tests have more stringent requirements and cover various aspects of the car, including safety equipment, braking systems, lighting, and emissions. HGV and PSV cars are subject to regular MOT tests to ensure their roadworthiness and compliance with relevant regulations.

Motorcycle MOT Test: Motorcycles, mopeds, and scooters also require MOT testing. The motorcycle MOT test evaluates the safety and functionality of the car, including lights, brakes, tires, suspension, and emissions. It ensures that motorcycles meet the necessary standards for road use.

Caravan MOT Test: Caravans that exceed a certain weight threshold require an MOT test. This test focuses on the safety and roadworthiness aspects of the caravan, including structural integrity, braking systems, lighting, and other essential components.

It’s important to note that different car categories may have specific requirements and regulations for their MOT tests. Additionally, there may be specialized MOT tests for specific purposes or industries, such as agricultural cars or mobile cranes. The specific requirements and frequency of MOT tests may also vary based on car age, usage, and other factors.

To ensure compliance with the relevant MOT testing requirements, it is advisable to consult the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) or an authorized MOT testing center for accurate and up-to-date information specific to your car type.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 29
Get a quote