Skip to main content

What are the differences between EURO 6,5,4,3,2?

You are here:
  • KB Home
  • What are the differences between EURO 6,5,4,3,2?
Estimated reading time: 1 min

The EURO emissions standards are a set of regulations established by the European Union to limit the amount of harmful pollutants emitted by cars. Each EURO standard sets specific limits for various pollutants, such as nitrogen oxides (NOx), particulate matter (PM), carbon monoxide (CO), and hydrocarbons (HC). The higher the EURO number, the stricter the emission limits. Here are the main differences between EURO 6, 5, 4, 3, and 2:

EURO 2: EURO 2 standards were introduced in 1996. They primarily focused on reducing carbon monoxide (CO) and hydrocarbon (HC) emissions from petrol (gasoline) engines and particulate matter (PM) emissions from diesel engines.

EURO 3: EURO 3 standards came into effect in 2000. They further tightened the limits on CO, HC, and PM emissions and introduced the first restrictions on nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions for both petrol and diesel engines.

EURO 4: EURO 4 standards were implemented in 2005. They significantly reduced NOx emissions from diesel engines, aiming to tackle the growing air pollution concerns in urban areas.

EURO 5: EURO 5 standards were introduced in 2009. They further reduced the limits for NOx and PM emissions from diesel engines. Additionally, EURO 5 standards imposed stricter limits on particulate matter (PM) emissions from petrol engines.

EURO 6: EURO 6 standards were implemented in two phases: EURO 6a in 2014 and EURO 6b in 2017. These standards brought the most significant reductions in emissions to date. EURO 6 introduced stringent limits on nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions from both petrol and diesel engines, along with further reductions in particulate matter (PM) emissions from diesel engines.

EURO 6d-TEMP and EURO 6d: These are additional extensions to the EURO 6 standards that set even lower emission limits. EURO 6d-TEMP was introduced in 2019, and EURO 6d in 2020. These standards further reduce real-world NOx emissions and include more rigorous testing procedures to ensure compliance under various driving conditions.

EURO 6d-TEMP and EURO 6d have become the most current and stringent emission standards, focusing on reducing harmful pollutants and promoting cleaner and more environmentally friendly cars. It’s important to note that each EURO standard applies to different car types (e.g., cars, trucks, buses) and may have different implementation dates for new car models. The EURO standards continue to evolve to address the growing concerns about air quality and environmental impacts.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 574
Get a quote
Get a quote